2019 Anthony Award Winners

Previous article
Next article

Author Lou Berney won the coveted Anthony Award for Best Novel for November Road at the 50th anniversary of Bouchercon in Dallas on Saturday, Nov. 2.

Anthony Awards are given for the best crime fiction, nonfiction and short story published in 2018. Nominees are selected by a vote of the attendees at the annual Bouchercon convention.
Oyinkan Braithwaite received the Anthony for Best First Novel for her book, My Sister, the Serial Killer.
The Anthony for Best Paperback Original Novel went to Lori Rader-Day for Under a Dark Sky.
The award for best short story went to S. A. Cosby for “The Grass Beneath My Feet,” published in the Tough blogazine, Aug. 20, 2018.
The Anthony for Best Critical or Non-Fiction Work went to the late Michelle McNamara for her book I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer.
The Anthony Awards are named in honor of the late Anthony Boucher (rhymes with “voucher”), a California writer and critic who wrote for the San Francisco Chronicle and the New York Times Book Review. Boucher also helped found the Mystery Writers of America.  The first Anthony Awards were given in 1986.

Bouchercon was founded in 1970 and is a nonprofit, all-volunteer organization celebrating the mystery genre.  It is the largest annual meeting in the world for readers, writers, fans, publishers, editors, agents, booksellers and other lovers of crime fiction.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here